Everything is okay…

Everything’s OK. What was the best moment that could serve as proof that everything is going to be alright? And how will you incorporate that discovery into the year ahead? (prompt author: Kate Inglis)

Everything is going to be okay, and if it’s not ok, it’s not everything…

I’m realizing that OK doesn’t mean life’s messy edges get trimmed nice and neat, that I stop feeling pangs in my heart that bring instant tears, that I always wear a smile on my face and skip through every waking hour. OK means accepting those dark moments of lying curled in a ball sobbing and never wanting to face daylight again, taking the hand offered by a friend and letting their compassion soothe my soul like salve on a raw wound. OK means sorrow co-exists with happiness. Every day brings a small moment, the honking of geese flying over to the pond, a raindrop suspended from a brilliant red leaf, two owls flying overhead while taking a walk with my son, sunrise creating a glow on mountain peaks. We are alive…and everything is okay.

 

About TJ

adventurer, writer, photographer
This entry was posted in Reverb 10 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Everything is okay…

  1. “OK means sorrow co-exists with happiness.” Yes. Yes indeed. Have been writing about how reality can be at once exquisite and impossible. Thanks for this gem of a post.

    Pleased to have found my way here to your words.

    Like

  2. Hi TJ,
    This line really struck me: “OK means sorrow co-exists with happiness.” I see it’s the same one Aidan picked out. I think it’s so true… Life, with all it’s ups and downs, is miraculous.

    Here was my “Everything’s OK” Reverb10 post:
    http://singleagainonlinediary.blogspot.com/2010/12/everythings-ok-day-24-reverb10.html

    Like

Leave a Reply

