#reverb10-party

Reverb10—December 9—Party. What social gathering rocked your socks off in 2010? Describe the people, music, food, drink, clothes, shenanigans. (Author of prompt: Shauna Reid)

My 40th wasn’t a raucous event to knock people’s socks off, but filled with love, laughter, great food and even better friends. For that, it sticks with me as a memorable social gathering in 2010…

At the beginning of the year, I moved to a small cottage, not exactly the best locale for a birthday party, but 40 was a milestone for me. So one of my running buddies, B, and her husband, C, hosted a small gathering at their lovely home. My new partner spent the previous day making salsa verde, salsa fresca and salsa roja with a variety of fresh tomatoes, chiles, peppers and onions from the garden…and pork carnitas! Homemade corn tortilla chips, warm from the frying pan, crisp pale ale, guacamole…all of my favorites for a fiesta!

Mom brought a few photo books of my first three years–images of me in a pile of 10 black lab puppies on the lawn, eating a banana in the kitchen while naked, holding a screwdriver at the ready for my dad who was repairing a bus engine while our dog supervised.

Friends brought food, wine and chocolate–guess they know me pretty well! And cards that brought tears to my eyes.

Visions of Mt. Whitney danced in my head with every sip of margarita; I couldn’t overdo it as we were headed to the Eastern Sierra the next morning and elevation and hangover don’t go so well together.

There was another reason to celebrate life that evening. After six months of chemotherapy and fighting stage IV non-Hodgkins lymphoma, C had been given the news days before that he was now in remission. So much to be thankful for, so much living to do. It’s proving to be a fabulous (if not challenging!) year!

About TJ

adventurer, writer, photographer
This entry was posted in Reverb 10 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

