#reverb10—Beautifully different

Reverb 10—December 8 – Beautifully Different. Think about what makes you different and what you do that lights people up. Reflect on all the things that make you different – you’ll find they’re what make you beautiful. (Author of prompt: Karen Walrond)

I talk to strangers. A woman on the street in the cold, needing a cup of coffee. We talked for 15 minutes–she’d lived in New York, was a musician, had the same name as my younger sister, now she lived on the street in this affluent college town, avoided and ignored by those who didn’t wish to see her in their path. I bought her coffee and we shared a hug before I went on with my errands. After that I always greeted her by name, bought her a burrito when she was hungry. I haven’t seen her this winter and wonder where her travels have taken her.

I roll down the windows and open the sunroof, blasting my son’s favorite music on a routine Monday morning, ’cause he says that’s what we do on road trips or field trips and it makes him smile and bounce around in his seat.

I cry in public when I hear or see something that touches my heart.

I protected a huge, green-winged dragonfly lying in the middle of a path from a group of runners whizzing past. Guess that’s the benefit of being slow–I see things on my runs!

I make a fool of myself to make my friends laugh until their mascara runs and their ribs hurt.

I fall in love with every friendly dog I meet.

As a kid, I brought home every hurt or homeless animal I found.

I wrote a letter to the girl driving the van that pulled out in front of my brother’s motorcycle. His helmet was no match for the impact of steel. She wasn’t to blame for his death, I needed to tell her that. I knew how he drove that machine. She needed to move on, to release the guilt, the pain. And so did I.

About TJ

adventurer, writer, photographer
This entry was posted in Reverb 10 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

